Final Reflections

Check out my final reflections here!

Enkomerero

If you’re wondering what that means… it’s finale in the Lugandan language.

Regardless of how much money this trip cost, it was absolutely priceless.  With everything included in the $4,500, the trip was entirely WORTH IT.  For 5 weeks, we had a place to stay, we were always fed without hardly ever having to pay extra for more meals (unless we were told about it before the trip), and then on top of that we were able to enjoy many different tourism activities.  I don’t think I’ve ever spent my money in a better way.  With that being said, 5 weeks did not feel long enough and I don’t say that because I wanted to stay longer with all of our new friends.  I think that additional time in our fieldwork would have been beneficial to our overall role of assessing our communities and being able to be apart of the implementation that was supposed to take place.  It’s hard to assess needs, help plan, and then have to leave without knowing if the implementation will be carried out.  I think thus far from my blogs, and from this final video, I would 250% go on this trip over and over again.  I had the a life changing experience, and like I said, to me that is priceless.

I’ve included my final reflection vlog.  What was supposed to be about 15 minutes resulted in 38 minutes of me going on and on… and getting a little emotional along the way.  I have so much to say about this experience, but I don’t think YouTube has the storage capacity for all of my rambling.

One thought on “Final Reflections

Leave a comment