7/2… into the Wild

Today was quite the experience… amazing but also terrifying.  We walked through the forest looking for REAL WILD CHIMPANZEES.  To start the experience off, there were baboons frolicking around the bathrooms only spiking the anxiety that I was soon to have.  Our tour guides were awesome and very helpful, we were able to spot chimps within the first twenty minutes whereas the day before it took 4 hours.  Like I mentioned about the hippos, it’s different to see an animal in the zoo than to see an animal in the wild.  Wow, it was wonderful.  I was terrified at first don’t get wrong… especially when Dr. Cathorall let me know that the chimps will circle the smallest one in a group….which I happened to be the shortest….sooooo you can only imagine.  BUT it was absolutely worth the fear to see these intelligent animals in their natural habitat, especially one mothering her child.  Our game drive in the evening was so fun.. Sitting on top of the vans was fun…we rode on the top all the way back to the lodge (which we shouldn’t have done).  After being away from Ndejje for a few days, my mood was starting to improve and I was being more present in the activities we did today.  I loved seeing more of Uganda.. I can’t believe this time next week I will be back in the States.  The best part of the day was seeing the chimps! The worst part of the day was cleaning all the dust off my face after our game drives.

One thought on “7/2… into the Wild

Leave a comment