7/3… My future career of Canoeing

Entebbe! Our final night in Uganda before leaving tomorrow and I cannot believe how quickly the past 5 1/2 weeks have flown by.  I’ve been spending a lot of time reflecting on this trip the past couple of days, and I can’t help but acknowledge the fact that my heart is so incredibly full.

We had canoeing on our agenda today, which I have no pictures of and that is not a bad thing.  Public health is in my future but canoeing definitely is NOT!  No matter how much I followed instruction on what to do, I seemed to be very good at paddling our canoe in circles.  I had a lot of mixed emotions from being frustrated, to laughing at myself, then to almost crying cause I couldn’t do it.. LOL like I said canoeing is not in my future.  I’m still very thankful that I can now say I have canoed before… but I cannot say I did it successfully.  Despite my poor skills, it was fun to do it alongside everyone.  I wasn’t the only one that wasn’t good at it.  Lake Bunyonyi is the deepest lake in Uganda.. practicing my canoe skills on it seems kind of overwhelming now that I think about it.  Being on the lake made all of the beauty of the mountains around us more visible and it was truly a very peaceful feeling.  The best part about today was all of the laughter during the canoeing.  The least favorite part of the day was again the long van ride.

Leave a comment