7/4… I forgot my hiking shoes

We woke up early this morning and started our day out with a boat ride across Lake Bunyonyi to the Batwa Pygmies community.  This community is located on the top of what feels like the biggest mountain in the world.. it felt that way after walking up the hill but we had children waiting with open arms to help us walk up the hills.  The hike was completely worth it when we got the top.  We were able to see some of their cultural dances, as well as visit the school.  The excitement from the children always makes it worthwhile for me, and their excitement is also one of the most impacting factors that motivates me to want to come back to places like this to help.  I wasn’t looking forward to the long ride to Entebbe, especially since that meant that we would be another step closer to going home : (

The best part of the day was the reaction of the children in the Pygmies community.  My least favorite part of the day was, again, the long van ride to Entebbe.

Leave a comment